Joining the natural hair train

Day one of my Natural Hair Journey

Alright guys. *sigh*. I know I am a little late to join the natural hair train.

Its December 2013, everyone has already done their big chop and their hair has grown 16 inches within two year time spans and here I am, just now saying goodbye to my press and curl. I haven’t had a perm since I was a teenager so I have been natural for quite some time now… Yet I could not SURVIVE for the longest time without my press and curl.

 Best believe every two weeks, I was up in that hot hair salon on a Saturday morning, when I should be doing something more productive, waiting for my hair stylist to squeeze me in for the day. Average time spent in a hair salon every two weeks? 6 hours. How many hours a month? 12. So that is how many hours a YEAR? 124 HOURS.

That’s crazy, right?

Imagine how much time I could’ve saved, while giving my hair a little more TLC? Cause honey, let me tell you, my hair does not like the hot comb. Neither does my scalp.

So on the record, publicly, I have made the conscious decision December 2nd 2013, to OFFICIALLY go natural. Today is the first day, I join the natural hair train. To let free rein to my kinks and coils, and let the natural side of me be free. And it feels great! This may sound silly but I feel so honest when I am natural. Like when you wear no makeup sometimes? Don’t you feel like you’re telling the truth? 😉

I have made it a point to stay committed to my natural hair journey, and share my experience weekly through blogging (and potential vlogging in the near future).

Now… Why do I want to do this? One day back in 2010, roaming the streets of New York, I was mesmerized by all of the different walks of life I would come encounter with. Literally, you walk five blocks, you’ve just traveled to five different countries. NYC is the epitome of a “melting pot.” I went to Theatre school in NY for a year and there, I gained more of an appreciation for natural beauty, and the true expression of self. When I got back to Detroit after I changed my major, I realized I wasn’t seeing as much… life. Not as much natural hair. Not as much expression. Why?

My vision is to share my experience and bring value to women who want to go natural not only to improve the health of their hair, but to work on loving themselves. My goal is not to give advice; simply share my experience. It’s more than a hair journey for me… It’s a spiritual journey. The idea came to me actually through scripture. Psalms 139:14 states “I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” The New Living Translation says this “Thank for you making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it!”

That really hit home for me. Why do we always strive to be so “perfect”, whatever perfect may be? Whether it’s the “perfect” curl, kink, coil, or even length… we were already made to be complex. Not perfect. Wonderfully complex…That’s what beauty is.

 Beauty in my eyes, can be seen as working on truly being at peace with yourself, in your natural state. In black culture especially, our hair is what makes us. Bad hair day? We won’t leave the HOUSE. Ive heard of women who won’t let their husbands see them without their weaves…THEIR HUSBANDS. As women, we tend to use our hair, perm or weave even as a crutch, as opposed to something of added value.

 I really want to share my journey to strive to bring unity as black women and as women who aren’t afraid to let free reign to our kinks and coils, then throw in a weave next week but not because we feel we have to… because we want to and we are comfortable enough in our own skin to do so. 

 Bear with me, for I am not a natural hair expert. I’m just a 20 – something from Detroit that wants to share her bad experiences with wash and go’s and tendency to product overdose. 🙂  Sharing my story to relate to you guys as we go through this wild journey called life, embracing how “wonderfully complex” God has made us and lifting each other up at the same time. Realizing that we are lionesses… we are “Beautifully mane”.

 Check out my pictures below! I’m a big fan of versatility. J And my natural hair sisters always remember, The Lord’s workmanship is marvelous. He made us “Wonderfully complex”. You are wonderfully and “Beautifully Mane”.

 Topic ideas? Have a blog you want to share? Comment below or email beautifullymane@gmail.com.

 Stay tuned for the next blog in which I will go into a little depth on a controversial topic in the natural hair community… weave. “What a tangled web we… weave?”

 Image

2 thoughts on “Joining the natural hair train

  1. Hi! This comment will have nothing to do with your post but i have recently started my blog here and i was wondering if you can give me any tips for getting my more followers and more people to see my blog.

    • Hello!

      First off, welcome to the blogger world. Im honored you even reached out to me girl cause lemme tell you, I have only been blogging on WordPress for a few weeks now. Jumping starting your blog is surely not the EASIEST task, but here are some tips to make it a bit easier:

      1. Have a specific topic of content you are mostly going to be blogging about/specific category.

      For example, a Lifestyle blog where you talk about relationships, health, exercise, finances, etc or a Natural Hair blog, which from the title of your blog it looks as though you are starting.

      2. Tag every single one of your posts.

      There should be an option below every post in which you can add tags. Tags help readers narrow down the categories in which they can find your blogs. Since my topic of content is Natural Hair, I usually tag “Natural Hair, Beauty, TWA, African American Hairstyles”, etc.

      3. Have fun!

      Blogging is super fun, especially if you are a writer who constantly needs to get their thoughts out. WordPress is an EXCELLENT blog website, and it has great options for you to get really creative with blogging.

      If there is anything else I can help you with, please feel free to reach out! Hope this helps.

      I am looking forward to reading your future posts! 🙂

      With kinks,

      Lizz

Leave a Reply

