“I tried to negotiate with God”: Lupita prayed for lighter skin as a child

This woman is gorgeous, and is representing for all of us black women out there. She gave a speech at Essence’s Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon in which she stated: “I remember a time when I too felt unbeautiful. I put on the TV and only saw pale skin, I got teased and taunted about my night-shaded skin. And my one prayer to God, the miracle worker, was that I would wake up lighter-skinned.”

Man…thats deep. Skin deep. Have you ever felt like Lupita? Have you ever wanted either lighter skin, or longer, less kinkier hair in order to feel more beautiful as a woman? How did you overcome that barrier? Share your thoughts and comments below!

Always remember: You are Fearfully, Wonderfully and “Beautifully mane.”

Leave a Reply

