Curly vs. Kinky: Which would YOU prefer?

0uIHSns

This appears to be a sensitive topic amongst the natural hair community, and I can totally see why. There is alot of talk and debate surrounding the two hair categories.

Do you think that one curl type is preferred over the other when it comes to the standard of beauty in the black community? While dating? While posting pictures on Instagram, waiting to get a whole bunch of likes?

So a couple days ago, I saw Taren Guy, YouTuber, Owner and CEO of Luv and Learn your Hair, receive a very angry comment on one of her photos regarding her “loose curl patterned long hair” and how she is considered more privileged due to her curlier hair texture.

 

Image

…Yeah. Somebody’s mad.

Now you guys know me. I see these crazy, controversial posts and comments and it always gets my mind RACING.

Lately, I find that theres alot of debate and discussion amongst the natural hair community on the difference between curly hair and kinky hair and why it matters. Some people prefer the perfect “curl”, or may have some biases in regard to achieving that perfect curl. There are people who love to embrace their “kinky” hair, and others who get OH SO OFFENDED when you call their hair kinky. Personally, I think all hair is beautiful and no I am not trying to be oh so politically correct. We have to get to a place where we love our hair, and we are not ashamed of how it sprouts, whether its coily, wavy, or whatever.

But my thoughts are as such: Whats is the distinction between the two? Are the light skinned, looser curl patterned naturalista’s more privileged than the Type 4 naturals? Why is there so much talk about it, and so much shade? ***Palm trees.

Now, from an informational, technical standpoint, the difference between the two textures is basically, curly hair is simply a spiral or a wave, while kinky hair is an actual twist in which the hair strands turn around itself.

twistcurl

You can find more information on blackgirllonghair.com. 

Now when I first began my natural hair journey, I have to be honest. THE ONLY VLOGGERS I WATCHED WERE THE ONES WITH THE LOOSER CURL PATTERN. No one else. There, I said it. (Please don’t come after me in the comment section LOL)

It wasn’t that I didn’t love my “kinkier”, 4a texture or wanted to explore it. It was simply that I was trying to get my hair to look like someone elses. I was insecure during the beginning stages of my natural hair journey. I wanted it to be curly. I wanted it to be defined. Shoot, I was a new natural and I just wanted my hair to look perfect.

A couple months into my natural hair journey, I began to follow different naturalista’s on Instagram, Twitter and YouTube and noticed how BEAUTIFUL the kinkier textures were. Naturalista’s such as Strawberricurls, Mahogany Curls who is now a Natural Hair expert for Essence magazine and all these beautiful women who embrace their different textures. I started to discover that some people have different curl patterns and textures on one head, while others have the same curl pattern and texture, yet cannot wear different styles, or their hair may break easily. All these sudden realizations and discoveries began to come to the forefront and I am like WHOA. Wait, your natural hair isn’t supposed to be perfect? Say what? Thank God. Now I can finally breathe. LOL

I say all this to say, all hair textures and patterns are indeed beautiful. Please excuse the cliche, but they are.

When we get to a place in our natural hair journey in which we truly embrace that aspect of our natural hair journey, we will be some bad mama jamas. Taking over the world, one “curl” or “kink” at a time.

Hope you found this interesting and of benefit! If you guys have any comments, thoughts, or any ideas of what I should post next, please share your comments below. Make sure to subscribe via email if you haven’t already! 🙂

1554444_10152477190772442_3546198601059989590_n

Always remember: You are Fearfully, Wonderfully and “Beautifully mane.”

 

2 thoughts on “Curly vs. Kinky: Which would YOU prefer?

  1. Your hair is pretty! When I went natural I didn’t have any YouTube videos to look at. I went off of word of mouth. Later on i found out about Kimmaytube and Naptual85 (both with a kinky hair texture mine is curly)I actually envied there hair! I was excited to see how going natural evolved! But I’ve noticed the separation of the kinky vs curly hair girls and still don’t understand why the division it’s just hair?!?! Hair Nazi’s are something else.

  2. With regards to the curly or kinky, I don’t see the offence as “kinky” just insinuates a tighter curl pattern. I’m black but I have loose curls, people often ask me if I’m mixed because of how I look but both my parents are black. To say that people with looser curls don’t have much of a struggle as people with tighter curls is not exactly true. People with looser curls are still receive the same straight hair brainwashing regardless of their curl pattern because the media distorts your view of yourself. I used to straighten my hair all the time, regardless of how my curl pattern is, because I yearned for long hair. At the end of the day we are all natural women and I think this sensitivity to curly/kinky is another way to create separation in a community that has been growing strong exponentially. – Jay 🙂

Leave a Reply

